Toilet Odor

Post your general and technical information, questions or responses in this forum. Viewing messages is open to all with no registration or log-in required. Prior to posting a new message or a response to an existing message, registration or login is required. Please do not post FOR SALE or WANTED ads in this section!

Moderator: bfadmin

camai7

Toilet Odor

Post by camai7 »

This is a rather basic topic, but does anyone have a magic formula for avoiding odor from the black holding tank?

1. Powder vs liquid?

2. Does doubling the recommended amount of powder or liquid help?

3. Any particular brand favorite?

4. What is recommended maximum time between dumpings (assuming tank is not full)?

5. Does using the relatively new flushing system really help?

Thanks in advance.
Jim
John S.

Post by John S. »

I have some experience in this. I will dump when I am on the way home at a flying J or at the local camping world. I do this if I am not full on the way home if I am using it for a weekend trip to the grandkids house. This moves all the stuff and makes it a broken up and allows for an easy drain. I then drain the grey water. Now as to oder, make sure you have enough water int he bowl and that it does not drain out. Also do not put the fan on when you flush or you will just suck up sewer gas. I do not put anything in the tanks but I do use plenty of water..... I have no issues with oder either. If you use a formaldahyde formula you may not be able to dump it at some campgrounds since it stops the breakdown and the septic sytem at home might not like it either. I have found that I have not had any issues but I do put dawn dish detergent in both tanks when they are full of water and drive around a bit and then dump it. That works great...
David and Susan Bratt

Post by David and Susan Bratt »

Are you sure the vent is not blocked with a bird's nest or something?
Rover 2002 24ft RB

www.ourtravelswithrover.com
Trisha

Post by Trisha »