Towing a 2006 Subaru Outback

Post your general and technical information, questions or responses in this forum. Viewing messages is open to all with no registration or log-in required. Prior to posting a new message or a response to an existing message, registration or login is required. Please do not post FOR SALE or WANTED ads in this section!

Moderator: bfadmin

hayesj29020

Towing a 2006 Subaru Outback

Post by hayesj29020 »

Hey guys and gals, I purchase a used 2006 Subaru Outback to tow behind my 2002 24RB. I am new to towing and would appreciate any advice as to what setup to use. Are there any all in one packages preferred? I weighs around 3500 lbs. Thanks for any advice and helping to educate me.
Jim
whemme

Re: Towing a 2006 Subaru Outback

Post by whemme »

Jim,

Well the first thing to do is to look in your owner's manual for that vehicle and there should be a section titled something like RV Towing. You don't say if the vehicle has an automatic or manual transmission and if the vehicle is a 4WD with an transfer case that can be put into neutral. All these factors will affect towing ability.

Personally I like BlueOx baseplates and tow bars.
Last edited by whemme on Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bill Hemme - Spencer, Iowa
E-mail: whemme@earthlink.net
2002 Born Free (Ford E-450 V10) 26' RSB
2016 VW Golf GTI - toad
hayesj29020

Post by hayesj29020 »

It is manual. It can be towed 4 wheels down.
hayesj29020

Post by hayesj29020 »

I just read nancybees previous thread. Lot's of good info there. Thanks!
dowellcj

Post by dowellcj »